Infographic: Queensland's National Parks

National Parks Infographic

Did you know?

Queensland is a special place with five stand-out areas recognised by UNESCO as World Heritage areas. World Heritage-listed areas are places recognised for their cultural and natural heritage as the best our planet has to offer. These areas' heritage values must be managed and protected for the benefit of current and future generations.

1. Great Barrier Reef - The world's largest coral reef
  • The only living structure that can be seen from the moon. 
  • Stretches 2,300km. 
  • Home to 2,900 individual coral reefs and 1,625 species of fish. 
2. Wet Tropics - The world's oldest rainforest
  • Two World Heritage Areas meet here with the Daintree Rainforest growing right down to the shoreline of the Great Barrier Reef
  • The Daintree Rainforest is estimated to be 135 million years old. 
3. Fraser Island - The world's largest sand island
  • 123 km long and 25 km wide at its widest point. 
  • 40 km of coloured sand cliffs. 
  • Sand dunes can rise to a height of 240 metres. 
4. Gondwana Rainforests - The world's most extensive subtropical rainforests
  • Home to nearly all of the Antarctic beech cool temperate rainforests on the planet. 
5. Riversleigh Fossil Mammal Site - The world's richest and most extensive fossil area
  • Fossils found here date back 15-25 million years. 
  • Covers 10,000 hectares in Outback Queensland